# **NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY**

985 Damonte Ranch Parkway, Suite 206 - Reno, NV 89521 - (775) 850-1440

### Physician Assistant (PA) – Prescribe/Controlled Substance Registration Application

Rev (01/05/2023)

#### This application cannot be returned by fax or email. An original signature and fee are required to process.

Approval of this application is required for a Physician Assistant to receive authority to prescribe dangerous drugs and/or controlled substances. A registration to prescribe is a revocable privilege, and no holder of such a license acquires any vested right therein or thereunder.

#### Instructions to apply to prescribe Dangerous Drugs ONLY (NRS 454.201) (PR)

NOTE: A current and active license with the Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners or the Nevada State Board of Osteopathic Medicine and a Nevada practice address is required to complete this application and maintain a Prescribe registration. A copy of this license <u>MUST</u> be included with the application.

- A. Mail the completed application to the address indicated above with a non-refundable fee of \$80.00. Fees can be paid for by credit card, debit card, personal check, cashier's check, or money order made payable to the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy. Credit and debit card payments are charged a 5% processing fee.
- B. If your application is approved, you will receive an email with instructions on how to access an exam relating to the prescribing of dangerous drugs. NRS 639.1373, NAC 639.272(4)(b). You have multiple attempts to pass the exam with a score of 70% or higher. In preparation for the exam, please review the laws regarding the prescribing of dangerous drugs in <u>Nevada Statues & Regulations (nv.gov</u>).
- C. Once you pass the exam, you will receive your **Prescribe Registration** in your email.

#### Instructions to apply to prescribe Dangerous Drugs AND Controlled Substances (CS)

NRS 453.232 A person who dispenses, prescribes, or administers a controlled substance without being registered by the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy (Board) is guilty of a <u>CATEGORY D FELONY</u> and shall be punished as provided in NRS 193.130. A practitioner <u>MUST COMPLETE</u> in <u>SEQUENTIAL ORDER</u> and obtain <u>ALL</u> the following for authorization to prescribe controlled substances in Nevada. Failure to complete all the requirements could result in disciplinary action.

#### Step 1: Obtain your Nevada Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) account

- A. Visit <u>nevada.pmpaware.net</u>, click "Create an Account", and follow the instructions on the webpage to complete your registration. For assistance contact the PMP at 775-687-5694 or pmp@pharmacy.nv.gov.
- B. If your PMP registration is approved, you will receive an automated email confirmation from "No Reply PMP Aware". It is a system-generated email so it may go into your spam or junk file. Once you receive this email proceed to **<u>Step 2</u>**.

## Step 2: Submit your Controlled Substance (CS) Application

NOTE: A current and active license with the Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners or the Nevada State Board of Osteopathic Medicine and a Nevada practice address is required to complete this application and maintain a Prescribe registration. A copy of this license <u>MUST</u> be included with the application.

- A. Complete and mail the application that is <u>attached</u> to these instructions to the address indicated above with a non-refundable fee of \$200.00. Fees can be paid for by credit card, debit card, personal check, cashier's check, or money order made payable to the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy. Credit and debit card payments are charged a 5% processing fee.
- B. If your application is approved, you will receive an email with instructions on how to access an exam relating to the prescribing of dangerous drugs and controlled substances. NRS 639.1373, NAC 639.272(4)(b). You have multiple attempts to pass the exam with a **70% score or higher**. In preparation for the exam, please review the laws regarding the prescribing of dangerous drugs and controlled substances in Nevada Statues & Regulations (nv.gov).
- C. Once you pass the exam, you will receive an email with your CS Registration. Proceed to <u>Step 3</u>.

#### Step 3: Obtain your Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration

NOTE: An active CS registration is required to complete this application.

- A. Complete the on-line DEA application at <u>deadiversion.usdoj.gov</u>. If you have a DEA number from another state, and want to transfer that DEA number to Nevada, you will need to complete the DEA Registration Change Requests form.
- B. If your application or form is approved by the DEA, you will receive your DEA certificate in the mail.
- C. You <u>MUST</u> email (<u>pharmacylicensing@pharmacy.nv.gov</u>) or fax (775-850-1444) a copy of your DEA certificate to the Board.

You are <u>NOT AUTHORIZED</u> to prescribe controlled substances unless you have active PMP account, an active CS registration, <u>AND</u> an active DEA registration (in which a copy of the certificate has been provided to the Board).

Prescribe and CS registrations expire <u>OCTOBER 31</u>, <u>OF EVEN NUMBERED YEARS</u>, despite when the registration is issued. You <u>MUST</u> notify the Board in writing of any changes in the location of your practice or supervising physician not later than 10 days after the change occurs. NAC 639.277.

# **NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY**

985 Damonte Ranch Parkway, Suite 206 - Reno, NV 89521 - (775) 850-1440

# Physician Assistant (PA) – Prescribe/Controlled Substance Registration Application

Rev (01/05/2023)

What types of drug(s) will you be prese	cribing?					
Dangerous Drugs ONLY (Non-Refund		R)				
Dangerous Drugs AND Controlled Sul	ostances (CS) I, II	, III, IV and/or V (Non-	Refundable \$200 F	ee) (CS)		
Select the Controlled Substance Schedules you are applying to prescribe						
🗆 Schedule I 🛛 🗆 Schedule		Schedule III	□ Schedule IV	Schedule V		
Section 1: Personal Information (NAC	539.272)					
First:	Middle:		Last:			
Date of Birth:	SSN or ITIN:		Sex: 🗆 M	□ F □ X		
Home Address:						
City:		State:	Zip C	Code:		
Telephone:	Email:					
PA License #:		Specialty:				
(You must have a current and active license			xaminer or Nevada St	ate Board of Osteopathic		
Medicine to apply for and maintain a Prescr	ibe or CS Registrat	lon.)				
Section 2: Practice Information (A prac	tice address is re	equired for processing	g of your application	n.)		
Practice Name:						
Practice Address:				:		
City:		State:	Zip:			
Telephone: Fa						
•						
Section 3: Supervising Physician Inform	nation (NAC 639	.272)				
Supervising Physician Name:						
Supervising Physician Practice Address:				Suite #:		
City:		State:		Zip:		
Telephone: Fa	ax:	Email:				

Section 4: Military Service (NRS 622.120)			No
1.	Have you ever served on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States and separated from such service under conditions other than dishonorable? (Mark "Yes" if discharged honorably.)		
2.	Have you ever been assigned to duty for a minimum of 6 continuous years in the National Guard or a reserve component of the Armed Forces of the United States and separated from such service under conditions other than dishonorable? (Mark "Yes" if discharged honorably.)		
3.	Have you ever served the Commissioned Corps of the United States Public Health Service or the Commissioned Corps of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration of the United States in the capacity of a commissioned officer while on active duty in defense of the United States and separated from such service under conditions other than dishonorable? (Mark "Yes" if discharged honorably.)		

Section 5: Federally Mandated Requirement (NRS 425.520, NRS 639.129)			No
1.	Are you the subject of a court order for the support of a child? (If "yes", answer question 2.)		
2.	Are you in compliance with the order or the plan approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment of the amount owed pursuant to the order?		

Section 6: Personal and Professional History			No
1.	Have you been diagnosed or treated for any mental illness, including alcohol or substance abuse, or physical condition that would impair your ability to perform the essential functions of your license?		
2.	Have you been charged, arrested or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in any state?		
3.	Have you been the subject of a board citation or an administrative action whether completed or pending in any state?		
4.	Has your license been subjected to any discipline for violation of pharmacy or drug laws in any state?		

Please use and make copies of this page (if necessary) to provide information regarding any questions, 1-4, you have marked "YES" to in section 6 of the application. A signed statement of explanation for each event and a copy of all documents that identify the circumstance or contain an order, agreement or other disposition for the event must be provided.

This is in response to Question # \_\_\_\_\_. Provide all the following where applicable:

Date of Event/Arrest	Disposition Date	State	City		County	
Case #		Governing, licensing, Arresting Presiding Body/Agency/Court				
Reason/Charge						
Plaintiff/Defendant/Claimant/Respondent				Lawsuit/Arbitration/Bankruptcy		
Name of Business/Industry/Entity						

Provide explanation below:

I certify under penalty of perjury that the information contained in this application is accurate, true and complete in all material respects. I understand that making any false representation in this application is a crime under NRS 639.281. I understand that, pursuant to NRS 239.010, this entire application and any portion thereof is a public record unless otherwise declared confidential by law, and will be considered by the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy at a public meeting pursuant to NRS 241.020. In the event this application is approved I agree to comply with all applicable federal and state statutes and regulations governing this license or registration and understand that any violation may result in discipline.

Date

Date

Applicant Print Name (First, Last)

Original Signature (electronic, copies or stamps not accepted)

Required Supervising Physician's name and signature (NAC 639.272):

Supervising Physician's Print Name (First, Last)

Original Signature (electronic, copies or stamps not accepted)



# NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY

985 Damonte Ranch Pkwy Suite 206, Reno, Nevada 89521

(775) 850-1440 • (800) 364-2081 • FAX (775) 850-1444

• Web Page: bop.nv.gov

# Applicant Name:

Payment: Pay application fee by providing your credit or debit card information below, or					
by submitting a check made payable to Nevada State Board of Pharmacy.					
Credit Type:	Credit Card #:				
$\Box$ Visa $\Box$ MasterCard $\Box$ Discover					
American Express					
Expiration Date:	CVV (3 digits on back of card):	Amount:			
/(MM/YY		\$			
Name on Card:					
Billing Address:					